This is the joint website of  Women Against Rape and Black Women's Rape Action Project. Both organisations are based on self-help and provide support, legal information and advocacy. We campaign for justice and protection for all women and girls, including asylum seekers, who have suffered sexual, domestic and/or racist violence.

WAR was founded in 1976. It has won changes in the law, such as making rape in marriage a crime, set legal precedents and achieved compensation for many women. BWRAP was founded in 1991. It focuses on getting justice for women of colour, bringing out the particular discrimination they face. It has prevented the deportation of many rape survivors. Both organisations are multiracial.




Please press your MP to sign this Early Day Motion

Please press your MP to sign this Early Day Motion - write to your MP at

Check who signed at


That this House notes the extremely low rate of convictions for rape of 5.3 per cent. of prosecutions brought; further notes, while recognising that in a few recent cases women who have reported rape have been convicted of perverting the course of justice, that at present victims of rape face the unwarranted ordeal of exposure and trial by public opinion in the media; believes that the hard-won anonymity for victims of sexual offences is all to fragile in the face of media reporting of facts revealed, for example, under the protection of parliamentary privilege or the impunity of the internet; further notes the Attorney General's view that the media share parliamentary privilege to report details otherwise restricted in law if done `in good faith and without malice'; considers the Daily Mail to have acted with extreme malice in recent cases and to be conducting a campaign to force a change in the law on anonymity by continually flouting it; calls for the Attorney General to restate the gravity of committing contempts of court to the media, directly and via the various media regulators including the Press Complaints Commission, and to take action to back up his words; and further believes that the public interest in an effective criminal justice system is best served by the preservation of anonymity for the victims of sexual offences, most particularly rape, and thereby the removal of a significant disincentive for such victims to report the crime.

Signed by the following MPs:

Cohen, Harry
Jones, Lynne
George, Andrew
Vis, Rudi
McDonnell, John
Burt, Lorely
Simpson, Alan
Etherington, Bill
Williams, Roger
Hall, Patrick
Jackson, Glenda
Featherstone, Lynne
Mulholland, Greg
Teather, Sarah
McDonnell, Alasdair
Abbott, Diane
Lancaster, Mark
Russell, Bob
Buck, Karen
Rowen, Paul
Williams, Stephen
Harris, Evan
Lepper, David
Sarwar, Mohammad
Butler, Dawn